Good News Might Be Bad News in the World of Science

I am not only blessed with the opportunity to visit a renown research center in a beautiful city, I have also had the luck to get warm and sunny weather in place that is known for be rainy. However, I better tell you that not everything is sunny. Yesterday I found a really exciting variable in a sample my colleagues have offered me to work with – I was over my heels. It had to do with older people’s images off their bodies and that is something I would love to analyse and know more about, especially considering  the emphasizes on young and beautiful persons in the society. So we decided to check the distribution of the variable, i.e. how many are satisfied and who many are not. We found that almost 80% of the elderly are satisfied with their body appearance mostly or completely, and only a few are mostly or completely dissatisfied.  Yes, this is good news that elderly persons are satisfied with their body appearance, but from a statistical point of view this is really bad news as we don’t have any variation in the variable, i.e. there are no dissatisfied persons to compare with. Welcome to my world where good news might be bad news!

Top  (or it is actually a tunic that I have tucked in beneath my skirt) – Vero Moda, Cardigan – H&M, Skirt – H&M, Stockings – H&M, Clogs – Esprit, Necklace – Gina Tricot, Belt – Lindex

Colored Tights | Everybody, Everywear

This entry was posted in Academia, Academic posts, English, Gerontology, Mixed prints, office hours, pattern mixing, Teaching appropriate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good News Might Be Bad News in the World of Science

  1. meagan says:

    Those tights are sooo fabulous and I love the pattern mixing!
    -Meagan
    http://www.spunkychateau.com

Leave a Reply

