Casual Chic First Day at the Conference

This is an outfit I wore the first day at the conference. It is what I would call casual chic. Newly bought jeans from Ann Taylor Loft, a new shirt from Saint Tropez (bought in Sweden), and a sweater from Forever 21 . I love to shop when I visit the U.S. as there are various brands that are not available in Sweden, I can buy at least one smaller size (I know I fool myself, but let me believe that I am thinner than I am, at least a couple of days each year in November), and at the moment the exchange range is favorable. I also like to think that I do something good, helping America’s economy to recover. This time it was Boston’s turn.

 I know that some conferences have a much more formal dress code, but the conference I have attended has an informal dress code. I have actually seen people wearing clothes looking like pajamas (but not my colleagues/friends). I would not wear jeans that not is dark wash, but that is me . As you can see I don’t wear a jacket. However, I sometimes do especially at the day of my presentation as it make me feel professional. I have noticed that several of my American colleagues also dress more formal at the day of their presentations and more casual other days. I sometimes wear skirt, but I try to not dress to girly. I want to get attention for my work and not for any other reasons.

Last but least, I took one and a half day of and got some time for shopping (proofs in pics) and to do some sightseeing (also proofs in pics). I got to spend some quality time with my dear colleague C who also helped me to take the outfit photos! Thank you for taking the pictures but most of all thank you for being my friend and colleague!

Shirt – Saint Tropez, Sweater – Forever 21, Jeans – Ann Taylor Loft (curvy fit trousers), Shoes – Caprice, Söder skor

This entry was posted in Academia, Academic posts, Casual friday, office hours, What to wear to a conference. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Casual Chic First Day at the Conference

  1. C says:

    It was an especially lovely walk in the park! Great photos 🙂 I can attest that your jacket and scarf worn at your conference presentation were picture-perfect too. Best wishes to my friend and colleague!

Leave a Reply

