A Perfect Match

Today is Valentine’s day, but I have to admit that I took these photos during the weekend. Even though I most of the times have a good sense of what goes together sometimes they don’t when I try them on. It usually happens when I am in a stress (or cause me stress) and in the last-minute  I have to wear something that I know goes together, but maybe less exciting. It has happened at least twice the last month and both times it has felt like I have missed a great opportunity to dress up and to be honestly it has almost ruined the events for me. So I planned for Valentine’s day several days a head. Let’s hope that my Valentine has planned something for me.

I have already written several times on this blog that red and pink was the ultimate no-no when I was a child and as a teenager . Only yellow and purple or yellow and brown were as bad. But times changes, yes you can call me the queen of platitudes, and in the 90’s I broke the boundaries and wore red and pink together. I thought it was great, but most people in my small town did not. And as small town people do they told me. However, at that point I was already over my heels in love with red and pink, so I did not care as people being in love don’t. Yes, red and pink might be a pretty obvious theme for Valentine’s day, but you can’t deny that they are a perfect match, so I will continue to say “Yes, I do” to red and pink.

Today there does not seem to be any no-nos considering which colors that goes together or not (or is there?) and I think that is great. Moreover, I don’t think it would have crossed my mind as a child or as a teenager that you could wear your dress as skirt (picture of the dress here), but you can. You just need a wide belt to tuck in your blouse under (it is definitely easier if you use a short blouse) and voila you have a new combination. If you did not know, don’t worry, I just learned it myself. This is only one thing I have learned from various style bloggers. So why don’t you jump over to Everybody Everywear and get some more red and pink style inspiration! And as it is Valentine’s day if you see something you like don’t forget to leave a comments and spread some love! It is deeply appreciated.

Another thing I just learned is that Essie’s quick dry top cover works as magic. No more scratched painted nails.

Blouse – Sisters, Cardigan – Koton (Turkish brand), Dress – Anthropologie, Boots – Bought in Portugal, Jewelry -Gifts from my Valentine

This entry was posted in Colored tights, Colorful posts, Dressed up, English, What to wear at a date, What to wear at Valentine's day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Perfect Match

  1. Faith says:

    This is really lovely! I love the different shades! It’s almost more of a monochrome look….which I think is great! 🙂

    sweetenedstyle.com

  2. preethi says:

    Love all the different shades of red & pink here – so pretty!

    preethi
    lace, etc.

  3. Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

    Thank You Faith and Preethi! Your positive response assured me that I will wear this on our Valentine’s date night. Yes, we did not celebrate Valentine’s day yesterday as I got a bad cold and had to spend the night together with paper tissues and sneezing. I suppose I have something to look forward to instead!

  4. Love that red blouse and dress. The cardi is absolutely a perfect combo, eh. Lovely!

    Cheers,
    Cathy@New Pulse Uniform’s Skechers Scrubs Page Promises Easy Shopping

Leave a Reply

