Hopefully Enough Monochromatic for Everybody Everywear

This Monday was the first day officially back at the office after the vacation. As I have told you before the dress code in academia in Sweden (at least within my field) is very relaxed. I sometimes feel overdressed, and then I think that life is to short for wearing clothes you don’t like or don’t feel good in, and wear what ever I am in a mood in for. But I try to wear more neutral outfits when I give lectures, as I want people to listen to what I say and not pay too much attention to what I wear. Hmmm… wonder if it would work the other way around, that I could wear a very bold outfit if I don’t have anything to say? It happens now often than you think, I promise.

 I really like this old vintage skirt of mine. Or did I misunderstood it, isn’t a ten-year old skirt from H&M vintage? Anyway, I have linked up to Everybody Everywear that has a  monochromatic theme this month. Ladies, did I broke some rules when I added the scarf and will I be punished for that? I am sorry if I did, but I don’t think it is a crime to add the accessory that really made the outfit pop? Right?!

T-shirt – Esprit; Skirt – H&M; Belt – Lindex, Wedges – Bought in Turkey, Scarf – Zara (new on sale)

This entry was posted in Academia, Academic posts, Causal Chic, Colorful posts, monochrome look, office hours, What to wear in academia, what to wear teaching, Work appropriate, work appropriate outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hopefully Enough Monochromatic for Everybody Everywear

  1. nico says:

    I adore this outfit and I am already dreaming up a similar version using things from my closet! The red white and blue is great and I dig your scarf!

    -nico

    http://www.SatinAndSalt.com

    wanna maybe follow each other?

  2. Lisa Walter says:

    This is a very pretty outfit. I really like the scarf, it finishes the look.

    I’m new to your blog and I happened to see a few posts about aging research. I have not had the chance to take a long look at your blog yet, but I wanted to ask if you are in that field? That’s my field…my undergrad degree is in Human Development/Gerontology and now I’m working on my Master’s in the same field. It’s a wonderful field of study…its wide open and there are many gaps in research. I love it.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Lisa! Wow it is so exciting that you also are a gerontologist and a style blogger. You are the first gerontologist/style blogger that I have heard about , expect myself. I have a PhD in gerontology since a couple of years and I am now doing a postdoc at Karolinska Institutet. Yes, I think it is a great research field and I have never regretted that I choose this field. I have planed to write more about my research here on my blog, but if you are curious you can find more information about my research here.
      http://ki.se/ki/jsp/polopoly.jsp?l=en&d=31109&a=116986
      I would love to hear about what is your research interests. If you have the possibility to go to the annual meeting of Gerontological Society of America, please let me know as I usually go.

      • Lisa Walter says:

        We have a little niche don’t we, being Geronotologists and Fashion Bloggers!

        When is the the annual meeting and where? It would be worth a trip for me. I believe that my advisor attends this event annually.

        My area of research is aging and financial exploitation of the elderly. Thank you for the link. I did peek at it, but I am going to spend some time looking at it after the semester gets going.

        Its always interesting to ‘meet’ other people in the same field of research that I’m interested in.

      • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

        I think you are right, there could not be very many more than us being both Gerontologists and Style Bloggers! The GSA meeting is in San Diego this year. There is travel awards to apply for for students. The conference is huge and very good! I also got some shopping tips from the stylish Audrey at Putting Me Together who lives in S.D. So I think there will be a lot of fun both scientifically and visiting S.D. Your topic sounds very interesting. I would love to know more! Take care!

  3. This is an amazing outfit! The scarf is a perfect addition to this look 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    I think this counts–even if it doesn’t, the pattern mixing is also great. (:

  5. Kaffesoester says:

    It would be a crime to leave out the scarf! This outfit is so chic – and I love the belt too! You could be living in Paris, you’re so stylish! Of course it counts! We have to thank the sun for finally letting us wear our skirts and sandals. As I understand we still have at least a week (well, in Denmark anyway!) with this lovely weather. Have you got many more skirts waiting to come out into the sun? I’m feeling a bit envious! Must go skirt shopping!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Tine, but I would not be able to live from the small portion sizes in France, I would go crazy! Glad that you have some nice weather! It is sunny here but the air is actually a little bite chilly. I wore my mustard skirt yesterday, and I think I got some ok photos too, so it will probably be on the blog at the end of the week or during the weekend. Happy skirt hunting! And may the odds be ever in your favor!

  6. Melanie says:

    Oh yes, this certainly qualifies; accents don’t count – it’s a rule (in my own warped world). I think people would listen to you as much or even more when you wear bold outfits. I’m listening when you’re in this red outfit!

  7. Izzywizz says:

    Hey, you look fine by me! 🙂 Im not sure I followed the monorules myself, wearing a skirt with different colours. But arent we supposedto break rules? 😉 Love your red theme, the scarf being the icing on the cake 🙂

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Izzywizz, I agree, we should know the rules but have the courage to break them (at least when it comes to fashion)!

  8. Lindsay says:

    I absolutely LOVE this outfit! The scarf just makes it pop. I might have to pop over to Zara to check it out! Popping over from EBEW.

  9. Mary says:

    I love the scarf! It is so cute and it definitely adds personality to the outfit. And I love that printed skirt. This outfit is just so cute! 🙂

    -Mary @ stylethatmoves.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

