Shopping Restrictions?

Today (Sunday) when I after a lovely weekend including for example meeting with friends and swimming in an outside pool sat down to write a blog post, I realized that I had photos from three different outfits to select from. It does not happens very often to me, but the weather (except on Saturday) and the light have been good the last days and that needs to be taken advantage of. It also feels good to have some outfit photos in reserve as I have already understood that this semester is going to be pretty busy.

This outfit is pretty similar to how I wore this dress last time (photos here), but I added a green bolero in case I would freeze. I bought this bolero for almost nothing several summers ago, but it has never made it into the blog before. It sometimes surprise me that despite that I blog quite regularly there are still pieces in my wardrobe that I have never shown on the blog, and that it probably means that I have a lot. Another sign of that I own a lot is that it happens that I end up wearing something else than I originally had in mind, because I could not find it in the wardrobe. I have also thought about how often I wear clothes or accessories that I bought recently. Of course, it is good that I wear those things that I have bought, but it also means that I buy a lot. This has made me think that I should take some time off from shopping, or at least have some restriction for a while, and mostly shop my closet. I am thinking about just allow myself a substantially smaller amount of money than I usually use for clothes, shoes, and accessories. However, before I get started I would really like to know if you have tried to have a shopping break/restriction, and what “rules” did you have? Did you manage to keep you promise or did you cheat, what worked and what did not work? If you already have written about it on your blog (because I know many have), leave a link if you like.

It is still Sunday when I write this, but as soon as Patti at Not Dead Yet Style open up  Visible Monday, a place for stylish women to show their personal style, I will link up.

Dress – Gina Tricot; Camisole – Noa Noa; Bolero – Flash; Necklace – H&M; Bracelet – Bought in UAE; Wedges – Bought in Turkey

This entry was posted in Thoughts about shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Shopping Restrictions?

  1. Marci says:

    Super cute! ‘Love the necklace! -Marci

  2. Love the bolero and necklace. I’ve tried restricting myself before. I think I managed about 6 months just using stuff I already owned, but I also cleared out a whole load of stuff I no longer wanted and sold it on eBay. I then allowed myself to use the money I made selling to buy “new” items on eBay. So… maybe not cheating, just a little bit cheeky!!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Alexandra, I really like the idea of being allowed of use the money you make of selling to buy new items.

  3. Love what the bolero adds to the whole look and the necklace is really cute!

  4. Your look is so pretty, love the bolero sweater. I haven’t done a formal restriction, but I have bought far fewer pieces this year than last year, and given away a *lot*. I like having a smaller wardrobe now. Thanks so much for linking up to Visible Monday (on Sunday : > )

  5. Kaffesoester says:

    The bolero is really great with your outfit, and an unusual combination with the yellow. Good that you found it! The necklace is so sweet – I never noticed it at H&M.

    Out of a tight budget in general, clothes shopping has been at a minimum for years. It’s looking better now, but my funds are still limited. After completing my capsule wardrobe I expect to be on a shopping break. The reason to make a capsule wardrobe is to avoid the constant adding to your collection but still be well dressed. That saves space in the closet so things don’t get lost in a mess – and it saves money! I haven’t made any difinite plans yet, but I think I’d like to try not buying anything for a month.Does that sound realistic?

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Tine! One of my colleagues really liked my necklaces so I tried to find her one. I did some serious bird-watching for her, but this example seemed very rare. I am an unsuccessful ornithologist!
      Yes we can! But I will probably start with setting up a small limited budget, as I don’t want to chock my self or myb surrounding. You have to think about other people’s health too!

  6. Lisa Walter says:

    I really like the color of the bolero and how you paired it with the yellow and the dress. You look very pretty.

  7. Izzywizz says:

    Love how put colours together, looks adorable! 🙂 uhm no I havent tried the shopping ban myself, I do however try to follow my monthly budget but sometives I give in. :p I cant impose a shopping ban for myself, I would go mad :p

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Izzywizz! I think that I might go crazy too, and that is why I asked about other persons experience.

  8. Di says:

    I’m in deep love with your bird necklace. A girl can never go wrong to sport one with birds around her neck no matter what fashion she is wearing… Well done, and oh yes, that light is soft and lovely!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you! I really love the necklace too, and it was not expensive at all as I bought it at H&M

  9. Jane says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog – I am enjoying catching up with yours. I love the dress – a very versatile garment.

  10. Lovely combination of colours; they look absolutely adorable on you!

  11. Very lovely outfit. That bolero is such a pretty color.
    I need to put myself on a shopping restriction! I am certainly not buying what I used to, but I really do not “need” any more clothing. So I am doing better about not getting new things, but I am still not on restriction yet.

  12. sabine says:

    to mix the summer dress with a camisol is a nice idea! maybe to mix it with a long-sleeved tee in automn, that will give us the chance to wear our so nice summer dresses a bit longer this year. sometimes i am facing the same problem and do not find what i want to wear in my wardrobe, probably i also have too many pieces. but at present i do not want to follow restrictions. for many years i had been on a budget and because i want my children to be dressed well i only had a small wardrobe. now it’s my turn. buying mostly thrifted or second hand my budget is not stressed to much.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Yes, I think that is a great idea, I have been think about it too. Don’t you think it would look good with boots too? I can totally understand that at some time points there is no need or longing after a restriction, but for me at this point I think it might be good.

      • sabine says:

        think i would try it with long boots, probably with brown one. i have this idea that long boots go best with skirts and dresses.
        probably in some years i will look into my wardrobe and think that a restriction would be absolutely necessary.
        ps: it is strange to talk about winter clothes, when it’s more thank 34 °c outside.

      • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

        I also think long boots works best with skirts and dresses. Unfortunately, autumn clothes are not that far away for me.

  13. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog! I don’t restrict my shopping very much as most of my shopping is very inexpensive b/c it’s from thrift stores. I do get a $25 allowance every week so I only spend from that and any money I make from selling on Ebay. I also try to only buy things that I really love because since thrift stores are so cheap I get tempted to buy way too much!

    Lindsey
    http://thriftandshout.blogspot.com

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thanks for stopping by Lindsey. As I have said to others I really wished we had good thrift stores in Sweden, but I really think those that carry good items are expensive (think prices like H&M) or filled with crap. Thrifting is popular in Sweden, so it is really hard to make good finds. At least that is my opinion.

  14. Daisy says:

    LOVE your layering!
    XOXO
    -Daisy Nguyen from PS BANANAS fashion blog:
    http://psbananas.com
    BLOGLOVIN
    FACEBOOK

  15. Sofia says:

    I have a friend who had shoping restriction for 12 months, she said that the most difficult part towards the end was when not beeing allowed to buy new socks. A have another friend, slightly more extreme so to speak, who for sustanability reasons did not buy andy cloths for 5 years (and is still continuing), she got some clothes from friends during this period, and she made som clothes by helself, for example nitting a bikini. Maybe to extreme for a cloths loving person!?!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thanks for sharing Sofia! Yes, five years sounds a little extreme, I suppose she was not a style blogger!

Leave a Reply

