Shopping Restriction – Continuation and Beginning

Two posts ago I wrote that I thought about a shopping restriction (here), and I asked for your experiences and thoughts about it. I got a lot of response and I want to say A BIG THANK YOU to all of you that shared your experiences and thoughts!

One reader said she would go crazy and another reader said that she had a friend that had been on a shopping restriction for more than five years. Yes, that is pretty extreme! Others said that they had more or less been on a restriction for years due to limited financial resources and now enjoyed being able to buy things, and others had considered a shopping restriction like I do. I respect and understand that we all are at different phases of our lives. But for me this is the time and place to cut down on my expenses.

After have given this a lot of thought and reading all your insightful comments, I have decided to give myself a limited budget for a couple of months, that is substantially smaller than what I usually shop clothes, accessories and shoes for during a month. To be honest, I don’t think it would make me happy to not be allowed to shop anything, and I would probably break my promise before you have finished reading this post. And then it would not be any point, right?! One of my reasons for going on a restriction is that I think I will do more wise shopping decision if I have a smaller budget, and accordingly not just buy things that I happen to like for the moment. I know I know, that this is a very privileged problem, but I am trying to be more aware. Hopefully I will use the time and the money that I save on something more useful, but one step at the time.

Ironically, I start my first week on a shopping restriction with wearing a tunic that I have never worn on the blog, and not in reality either. I bought it very cheap from H&M’s online store early this summer. I was not and I am still not crazy about this tunic as the fabric is very thin, but it would have been more expensive to send it back than it was to keep it. It costed less than the return fee, 29 SEK to be exact. However, the tunic fulfills it’s purpose in this outfit and it is to hide my thick thighs that is very accentuated in these pants. There are proofs of this from earlier blog posts, but I happened to forget which posts. But, from the knees and down I think these pants is very flattering, and who can resist this color?

Tunic – H&M; Camisole – Sunshine, MQ; Jacket – Soya Concept, Olgas hus; Jeans – Bought in Turkey; Necklace – Gina Tricot; Belt – ?; Bracelet – Indiska

This entry was posted in Shopping restriction, Shopping rules and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shopping Restriction – Continuation and Beginning

  1. Joni says:

    I really like the tunic. Looks fresh and comfy! Good luck on your budget goals. It’s good training for ourselves.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Joni! Encouraging comments from a stylish women like you make me like the tunic more. I think I am ready for such a challenge, and right now I feel very inspired.

  2. Lisa Walter says:

    I like the outfit and the color of the pants with the cream and black. Its very flattering and a fun outfit!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Lisa! My favorite parts of this outfit is the same as you describe. Gerontologist brains think a like! 🙂

  3. Izzywizz says:

    Love your coloured pants! 🙂 Best of luck with shopping on a smaller budget. 🙂 Hopefully you have more selfcontrol than me 😉

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Izzywizz, I will probably meed to look myself in somewhere or I will spend my money on something else instead, like my home. 😉

  4. Kaffesoester says:

    Sorry I’m so late with my comments – but a new school year just took my breath away! Your jeans are just a ray of sunlight! And bought in Turkey, what else can one expect! I wanted them the minute I saw them! And they look great on you!

    Some of the fabrics H&M use are of such a poor quality that I think they’ve made a mistake! I do like how you styled the tunic though – the belt and the jacket make a big difference. It certainly doesn’t look cheap.

    I’m considering giving myself some sort of restriction for the next three months. Hopefully that will leave me money for another closet or chest of drawers in the bedroom (allowing more clothes to be stocked!). Doesn’t that sound as a plan?

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Tine, You are too sweet! Although it is a lot of fun to get comments and to give comments, sometimes other things has to be prioritized and I have understood that you just not only have had the school start to think about. I think it sound like a terrific plan to restrict yourself for a while and instead by storage so you can do a lot of shopping later!

Leave a Reply

