Black Blacker?

I don’t think I have a lot to say today and even if I had, I would not have time to write it. One of my all time favorite television shows – Project Runway – will start any minute, so I hope I am excused. But before I stop, could I please ask you a question? This skirt as well as a couple of my favorite black pants are not very black anymore, but I still like them. Have anyone tried to dye your black clothes to make them black again? What worked and what did not work?

I am linking up to Visible Monday although it is already Tuesday!

Top – Sisters, Denim Jacket – Olgas Hus, Skirt – Vero Moda; Tights – Vero Moda, Scarf – Pieces, Belt – Zara

This entry was posted in Causal Chic, everyday outfit, vardagskläder, Weekend Wear and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Black Blacker?

  1. I have tried this and just plain Rit dye works, but you’ll want to leave it in for quite some time to get it really black. That was my only issue with some of my pieces; I didn’t leave them in the dye long enough and had to re-dye them to get the color I wanted.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Gracey for your advice, I have to pair of the pants I want to dye so I think I will start with one of them.

  2. I’ve never tried it, but I’d trust Gracey on all these DIY things. Love your look and the bright tights. Thanks for linking up to Visible Monday!

  3. Great ooutfit! I like dying things in my washing machine using RIT dye, but have not attempted black. -Marci @ Stone Cottage Adventures

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Marci! In Sweden you often share the washing machine with your neighbors of you live in an apartment, so I am not sure I dare to try to dye in the common washing machine, but maybe in the bath tube or at my mum’s house.

  4. sabine says:

    many years ago i tried to intensivy the color of my black pants because it faded out. the result was not satifying, i’m sorry to say. the color left black tracks on my dessous the pants had to be washed separately afterwards and worst thing the color was not the same all-over, some parts are blacker than others. what i would try to do is to fix a colorful application or some colored buttons to draw off the view from the faded out color to the nice eye catcher. enjoy your tv favorite!

  5. Kaffesoester says:

    A friend if mine is always re-dying her black clothes, with dye for washing machine use. Her black clothes always look new, and she’s given me a couple of samples to try (soon!). What you have to be careful about is the fabric, if it isn’t pure cotton. Only natural fibers will take the dye, or you could end up with some sort of spotted or marbled pattern on your black clothes! Viscose, silk, wool and linen are all natural fibers, like cotton. Leave everything else out! Also, watch the temperature when you wash your clothes, the lower the better.

    You look great in this outfit, the scarf and belt are lovely – and I adore the tights of course!

    Great to see you again – I was fearing you were too busy for your blog!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Tine! Yes, I am aware of the fabric issue, I need to check it up. Yes, this week has been even more busy than usual, which is the reason for the late reply to all comments. But I will have some very special photos to show you very soon, at the latest at Visible Monday.

  6. Kaffesoester says:

    Now it’s almost Monday – and I can hardly wait any longer!!!

Leave a Reply

