Me in My Doctoral Hat

It is not very hard to smile when you have a reason to get your hair done, wear a long dress, and wear a very special hat that was hand-made for you. It is also not very hard to smile when you get to party and celebrate 39 new PhDs, 6 new honorary doctors, and 12 new professors. And I of course smile because my smart colleague C was conferred as an honorary doctorate at the university I work at (one of them). It is so well-deserved!

I bought this dress at Macy’s two years ago when I visited C in the U.S. to wear at the academic ceremony when I got my doctoral hat. At that time neither I or C would have guessed that she would be appointed an honorary doctorate two years later, and that we would get to celebrate it together. I actually wore the exact same outfit two years ago. That time I had to wear a long black dress and to cover my shoulders (at least during the ceremony). This time I did not need to wear black, but I like the dress and I am still restricting my shopping. However, I did try a couple of other combinations with this dress (read other accessories), but I still liked the combination I came up with two years ago the best. The only thing I changed was the shoes, and my feet are very grateful for that. Unfortunately they don’t show very well in the pictures, but they are silver-colored and my most comfortable party shoes. Let me tell you that everything is relative.

Last but not least, I am linking up to Visible Monday!

Sorry for the poor quality in these photos, I am still taking photos with my phone! Maybe next weekend there will be time to get a new camera.

Dress – Macy’s; Scarf – Ma Ni; Hat – Handmade for me, gift from Jönköping University; Necklace – Esprit, Smycka; Shoes and purse – Bought in Turkey

This entry was posted in Formal dressing, What to wear at doctor conferment, what to wear at professor inauguration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Me in My Doctoral Hat

  1. Congratulations to your friend C on receiving her doctorate, that is an enormous accomplishment! Thanks for sharing your good news and fabulous black dress with Visible Monday.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Patti! I guess I am still overwhelmed from all the fun yesterday, so I forgot to leave a note about Visible Monday in my post, but it should be fixed by now.

  2. Wonderful, and great history behind your hat!

  3. Special occasions celebrating the accomplishments of those near to us are so much fun! And it looks like your hat was perfect for the occasion!

  4. Lisa Walter says:

    I think that dress is a perfect compliment to the hat. I didn’t realize there was a special doctoral hat, but its really cool. Looks great on you.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Lisa! The hat is a Swedish tradition, I don’t know how common it is outside Sweden. We don’t have the “capes” that you and the Brittish have.

  5. sabine says:

    congratulations from me too. the surprise is a sucess. i drop in later again, when i’m back from work, to read your whole post! you look marvelous!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Sabine! Now I am going to head over to your blog.

      • sabine says:

        now i am back again and have to tell you once more that you look marvelous, so pretty and so happy! your dress is beautiful and with its elegant style needs no other color to be added. lieben gruss von sabine

      • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

        Thank you so much Sabine! Yes, it was a very happy day!

  6. newscindy says:

    You look adorable in that hat! As for the photos…I’ve been taking a lot of mine with my phone lately, and it actually works pretty well. I do have a point-and-shoot digital, but am longing for the day when i get a DSLR.

    Cindy at Notes in the Key of Life
    I’m giving away a beautiful Soft Surroundings top!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Welcome Cindy! I use an iPhone, and it is pretty good if the circumstances are right, like in sunny and light places, but not when the sky is grey and the light is weak. Do you have any tricks?

  7. Kaffesoester says:

    Your hat is fantastic! It’s much prettier than the other countries’, and stylish! Obviously Swedes have great taste, as seen in your evening gown as well! I love the keyhole and the neckline, it frames your face and neck beautifully! I hope the celebration was lots of fun, with a good deal of partying afterwards!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you so much Tine! My feet told me that it was a lot of fun the day after. Not that I needed to be reminded, but in any case.

  8. Izzywizz says:

    Oh my you llook soo beautiful in that bowler hat!! Hats up! 🙂 The dress is amazing as well. I hope you had lots of fun celebrating 🙂

  9. Melanie says:

    You look radiant in this hat! No wonder – congratulations to you on your doctorate then, but now to your friend. Well done. This dress is beautiful and I can see why I should be worn again.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Melanie! Yes, I am trying to figure out how I should get an invitation to the next academic ceremony, so I could wear it a third time! 😉

Leave a Reply

