A Visit to the Kingdom of Crystal

Today I am showing you some photos of what I wore this Sunday, when I and my guests toured the Kingdom of Crystal that is located in the South of Sweden. These small villages such as Orrefors, Kosta, Bergdala, etc host glassworks that produce crystal that is sold around the world (read more about it here in English). It is a very fascinating experience to visit the Kingdom of Crystal as you can go into the glasswork and look at craft mans doing their job, and you can find beautiful handmade designed crystal (with minor flaws) to extremely good prices. As you might hear, I am very proud of the craftmanship and design that is produced in the county I was born in, and actually a craftsmanship my father’s uncles mastered. Given this, it made me very sad to hear that one of the most famous and prestigious glassworks – Orrefors is going to close down. Unfortunately, crystal does not seem to be appreciated enough, and with the competition from cheap mass-produced glass the glassworks are not able to sell enough to get profitability.

When I picked up my guests in the morning the first thing C said was, that is a lovely outfit and if you have not posted it on the blog, I am going to take photos of you in it, and she did. Thank you C it was very kind and thoughtful of you! This photo was taken in Strömbergshyttan, and of course the glass bubbles are handmade.

Top – Sisters; Cardigan – Saint Tropez; Skirt – Norgaard; Tights – H&M; Boots – Caprice; Necklace – H&M; Belt – Flea Market; Purse –

This entry was posted in Okategoriserade and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Visit to the Kingdom of Crystal

  1. Lisa Walter says:

    It is a lovely outfit. I would love to see more pictures of the Kingdom of Crystal…it looks like an amazing place. So sad that high quality things are being replaced by quick mass produced things.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Dear Lisa, thank you! There is pictures if you klick on the link in the post. I hope you have had a great Saturday!

  2. Melanie says:

    I agree with your friend – this is a great outfit. I love those patterned tights with this.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Melanie! Tights and especially these are my best friend during the long autumn and winter season.

  3. ariane says:

    Hi!

    Thank you for dropping by my blog – like the first comment i would have like to see more pics of kingdom of crystal sounded so interesting, one thing about blogging is all those places you do not know about and discovering them
    Your outfit is fab!
    I will follow you

    Ariane x

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Ariane! Yes, I also think it is great to learn about for me new places and traditions by reading blogs. There is a lot of pictures and more information if you click on the link in the post. I am already dropping by your blog on a regular basis. Take care!

  4. sabine says:

    hey anna,
    what a wonderful trip, i just did a look into the linked site and i am stoked of the place and the artful pieces made there. that is not only glass they are creating that truly art. that is in no way comparable with the cheap trash from far east. i understand that you are proud about it.
    i love your outfit and i love a skirt paired with boots. particularly pretty your patterned tights, you look so great!
    by the way i like your new header, the landscape is beautiful!
    enjoy your weekend anna!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      My Dear Sabine, yes, it is not comparable to cheap products from the far east and of course the prices can not be compared too! 😉 I took the photo in my header a week ago – it was such a beautiful pre fall day and my work had brought me to this beautiful place not far from where I live. Thank you, it means a lot to me to get a comment about my photo from you, as you always posts such lovely pictures from your part of the world. I hope your weekend has been great so far!

  5. Kaffesoester says:

    You look gorgeous in this outfit – you in blue is always a winner! With the brown leather it’s a great combination – classic autumn colours and very beautiful on you!

    Some years ago we did a tour in Kingdom of Crystal too, and I bought myself a lovely hand cut glass for my port (I’m the only one drinking port in this family!). It just adds a lovely luxurious feel to drinking port – even a cheap one!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Tine, I think you need to have some credit for this outfit too. I would not have entered Norgaard if you had not recommended a visit, and you might recognize the cardigan too! As you might have noticed, this skirt gets a lot of love! Yes, it is another feeling to drink from a crystal glass, and I would say if it was bought to a good price it makes the taste even better! Hugs

  6. Izzywizz says:

    Lovely mixture of browns and navy, the crystal baubles look amazing! 🙂 I dont own anything crystal myself though. 😉

Leave a Reply

