One Blouse Worn Four Seasons

I am home. I am so satisfied with my journey. Except from working on a really interesting analyses with my colleague and friend C, I have also attended the Annual Meeting of the Gerontological Society of America (GSA), which was this year hold in Sunny San Diego. What a city what a conference! 3.800 gerontologists meet to share their research findings with each other! I had less meetings booked this year than I have had the last years, but I had contributed to four studies that was presented at the conference, so I was still pretty busy. However, I don’t complain and I don’t brag either. It is a lot of work behind every single presentation you do. It might be years or decades of data collection,  and weeks, months or sometimes even years of work to run the analyses and write the results up, so when some one is truly interested in how you did it and what you found you get happy. Among the work I presented my review article about obesity and late life memory and thinking abilities got the most attention. It is a study where I summarize the current knowledge in the field. The reviewed studies consistently showed that persons being at the upper end of the body mass index (BMI) continuum have lower memory and thinking abilities in late life. However, I want to say that this is on the population level, i.e. not all obese persons will have lower memory and thinking abilities in late life. Another conclusion from this study is that except from the fact that obese persons are at a higher risk of cardiovascular diseases and diabetes which also is well-known to be associated with lower memory and thinking abilities in late life, there are probably other biological pathways too, which we don’t know very much about, although we could hypothesize about inflammatory processes and hormonal influences. The good news for me is that there is still very many questions that need to be answered.

 As I have been both busy and jet-lagged since I got home there has not been any time or energy left for taking photos this week. Instead I decided to show you how I have styled my polka dot blouse in various ways. The blouse almost always get to travel with me as it not wrinkle easily, it don’t take much space in the suitcase, and because I always feel good in this blouse.

This entry was posted in Blouse Four Seasons, How to wear your clothes during four seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Blouse Worn Four Seasons

  1. Lisa Walter says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, presenting and hearing other’s presentations. I cannot wait to attend next years conference and present my material (hopefully). I hope to have some good work done by then! I’m very excited about my topic.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      I can’t wait to see you in-persons then and hear your talk! I really hope I can attend next year too!

  2. sabine says:

    dear anna,
    fine that you are back again well. your explanations convinced me once more to take care of my weight and to avoid gaining more.
    a good idea to show how various such a polka dot blouse can be. i love it in every combination. it is a cute and versatile piece. and once more i admire your red pattered skirt, it is one of my favorites too.
    have a good time my dear!

  3. Kaffesoester says:

    So reassuring to have you back home in Sweden! The conference sounds fantastic though, so many people sharing the same passion, and with interesting and important results to build on in future research. Presenting your own work must be like showing off your baby to the world. It’s something to be really proud of! Congratulations on a successful conference!

    The dotted blouse is always lovely on you, and it’s amazing how many different bottom pieces you can pair it with – a truly versatile piece! It would probably also look great with a certain Danish denim skirt…

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Tine! True, this blouse goes very well together with a beautiful Danish skirt. However, I am afraid that I will not be able to wear that combination in a very looooong time, we just had a terrible snow storm, and I fear that we will have a looooong and very coooold season in front of us. But, with two layers of tights and a thick cardigan it might sooner or later show up at the blog, even in the winter season, you never know. However, at this time point I am just trying to survive until the Christmas break and get as much things as possible out of my hands. Önskar dig och din familj en fin advent!

  4. Marla says:

    Love your beautiful blouse.

  5. Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

    Thank you Marla!

  6. I feel like every good wardrobe needs polka dots. I especially like the outfits with the red skirts. Very lovely.

  7. That top will certainly take you to all the 4 seasons so beautifully…..glad I found your blog!

    REBECCA
    http://www.redtagchiclosangeles.com

Leave a Reply

