Hat-Trick in Burgundy and Mustard

IMG_0543

Today I submitted the biggest and most important grant application. So now I am taking three breaths and blog a little before it is time to continue. There is still two pretty big applications to submit, but at the moment life seems to be in control.

I have been wearing this cardigan with different boots and scarf this last weeks. It is just so simple to put on and can be varied in so many ways. It also much more comfy to wear a cardigan beneath my coat, than for example a blazer. However, when I did see this outfit on pictures I was thinking, well, it might not look as good as I have thought it look in the mirror. I know that the light and the angels of the photographs makes a lot of difference, whether the outfit comes across nice or not, but still there might be something to be learned from the photos, or? So a question to my style blogging friends, how do you handle this? Do you wear those outfits again that you don’t are 100% pleased with when you see them in picture, do you adjust them, or do you believe what you see in the mirror?

Yes, it is a hat-trick in burgundy and mustard on this blog. It was not on purpose, more due to the fact that I have not had time to do laundry, and none of my black tee/camisole were clean. If you interpret this as I have few black tees, then I am sorry to tell you that you are wrong, but if you interpret it as I have not done laundry in a long time, then you are right!

IMG_0540

Cardigan – Stockhlm, MQ; Camisole – Sunshine, MQ; Pants – Ann Taylor Loft; Scarf – Indiska; Boots – ParkWest

This entry was posted in everyday, keeping warm in the winter, vardagskläder and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hat-Trick in Burgundy and Mustard

  1. I like this outfit. I think burgundy and mustard look great together, especially when grounded by black.

    As for the photos, if mine don’t turn out well, I don’t usually re-wear and re-shoot, I just tell everyone that it’s cuter in person!

  2. Kaffesoester says:

    Anna, you look great in this outfit! The cardigan looks very elegant, especially with those fantastic boots! Maybe you’re being more critical than your readers? I think you should trust your mirror, I do! It’s so easy to get poor photos. A bad photo can easily ruin a perfect outfit. So, keep wearing your black cardigan, and let’s see those boots as much as possible. Soon it’ll be too warm for boots – if my cursing pays off!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Maybe I am to critical, but sometimes you just look fabulous in your head, and then you face the truth when you see the photos and realize that you are just an average Svensson! My flats, wedges, and sandals think it would be fair it they could get some attention to, so they cheer for you from the attic.

  3. Love the pop of yellow with the burgundy.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  4. Sabine says:

    Hello Anna,
    You look amazing in black with these gorgeous bright colors added. Mustard goes so well together with your hair and your skin. Don’t worry about the pics. You look great!
    When I would bring to the blog only the pics on which I like what I see. I would have max. one post per month. Mostly the mirror shows another me than the cam. Don’t know why. There are few clothes I have sorted out because I saw on the pics that they do not suit me. Mostly I believe the mirror and not the cam, keep them and wear them again and again.
    Weekend is near, enjoy it!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Sabine, I suppose your are right! I know exactly what you mean with not being satisfied with all the photos on the blog, although I have become more restrictive than I was in the beginning of this blog. Yes, have a great weekend! I am looking forward to meet an old friend and get some sleep.

  5. Lisa Walter says:

    Hi, Anna. I like the outfit in the photographs.
    If I don’t like something on camera, I don’t publish the picture and I may not wear the outfit again. I try to figure out what it is I don’t like; the fit, the color. If its the fit, then I usually don’t wear the outfit or item again. I trust the camera more than I trust the mirror.
    Mustard is a really good color on you!
    Hope the weather there is not super cold. It was really bitter cold today here.
    Congrats on getting that major grant proposal finished. I am assisting with four research projects this semester in addition to my own research project.
    I have to go over my resources very carefully because I used the Word 2010 to create my bibliography and it is not error free; I’m going to have to just input all of them by hand to make sure they are accurate! I am planning to defend my thesis proposal very soon!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Hi Lisa, I just realized this season that I can mustard close to my face, I never thought I could. Maybe it has something to do with aging?! It is not super cold right now, after have facing -5 to -20 degrees celsius for a while, everything around zero and above feels all right, as long as it is not too windy! Glad to hear that your thesis proposal is progressing, good luck!

  6. I’ve definitely had that happen, the outfit looks great in the mirror but doesn’t translate well in photographs. (I think texture and the fabric actually has a lot to do with this, some fabrics look amazing in person but they just don’t photograph well.) Sometimes I’ll try to tweak the outfit to see what doesn’t work or isn’t photographing well but if I really love the outfit, I wear it as is. After all, wearing them in rl is what really matters.
    I think this is becoming one of my favorite color pairings, I love how the burgundy and yellow looks together, I have to give it a try some time. I like your outfit as well, you look warm and cozy and ready for the cold weather and that yellow scarf is so fantastic!
    Good luck with your big grant, I hope it comes through for you. 🙂

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      I agree, texture and fabric AND LIGHT makes a big difference, but you always have very nice photos (and scenery). I look forward to see your version of burgundy and mustard!

  7. marlaslife says:

    You look fabulous in that mustard color. Love this.

Leave a Reply

