Not Very Formal

IMG_0951

This Friday one of my colleague defended her thesis. In Sweden this is a public event, and colleagues, friends, and family usually attend. It is custom that you dress up at a thesis defense, and it is not directly something I dread. For this defense I wore my Esprit dress that I bought early in the autumn. You have not seen the dress here at the blog before since I have been struggling with how to style it. But, my long black cardigan tied together with a black belt and my black boots created a harmony that I was satisfied with. A pretty relaxed dressed up outfit, but as I have said before, we are not very formal in my part of academia. As long as you clothes are nice and clean pretty much everything is ok. But of course, I can’t resist a chance to wear a dress with a shiny fabric!

I am linking up to Visible Monday at Not Dead Yet Style.

IMG_0950 - Version 2

Dress – Esprit; Cardigan – Mango; Boots – ParkWest; Belt – Bought in Dubai

This entry was posted in Academia, Academic posts, what to wear to a thesis defense and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Not Very Formal

  1. Sabine says:

    Hello Anna,
    the dress seems to be of a wonderful shining fabric and the color combination is fantastic. I love your dress and how you accented it with the belt. You look great!
    Do I see a bit of sunshine in the reflection of the window? I hope so and I wish you a nice springlike week!
    Take good care of you.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Sabine! You are very observant! We have actually have had sun for almost two weeks now. This weekend it turned freezing cold, but as long as there is sun it is ok! Have a great week you too!

  2. I love the way you belted the cardigan over the dress. I will often do something similar with a wide-striped dress that I have. The colors are great and get a chance to pop with the darker tone around them. I enjoy hearing about your part of the world, too!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you for your sweet comments Jean! Learning about other cultures and way of life is one of my favorite parts of style blogging, too!

  3. I really like this look, Anna – I often belt a cardigan over a dress or skirt too. Defending one’s thesis must be a big event – nice that you are able to be present for your colleague. Thanks for sharing your look with Visible Monday!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Patti! I was actually thinking about you when I put together this outfit! Yes, it is a big (and nervous, for the person that is defending) event, but the must fun part is the big parties in the evening. Unfortunately, I did not have to time to take outfit photos. But hopefully the next time!

  4. gracefully50 says:

    You look GREAT! Love the colors of the dress!

  5. Lisa Walter says:

    I love the colors to the dress, Anna. They look very flattering with your blonde hair and fair complexion.
    I really like all of these pieces together.
    Your process of thesis defense is so different from ours. Its not a public event; it takes place only with three profession on our committee. I like the way your country or university makes it a special event!

    • Lisa Walter says:

      OOPS…I meant to say the three “professors” not professions!

      • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

        Thank you Lisa! Yes, it is a nice way to end 4-5 years of hard work, and in the evening most people arrange a big party for colleagues, supervisors, the fellow doctoral students, family, and friends. I hope to get my party outfit on photo one day, I did not this time!

  6. Val Sparkle says:

    That looks great! I love the bright yellow with black and white, and the belt with the cardigan makes it look very smart!

  7. Jane says:

    What a great dress. I love those colours.

  8. My daughter just got accepted to grad school and is so excited. I will have to share with her how differently things are done in Sweden. I hope that all went well for your friend. It must be nice to know that your friends and family are there to give you moral support!

    And what stylish support you gave her! I think you put this look together perfectly!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Diane, how exciting that your daughter got into grad school. I loved my grad school years, in many ways the best years of my life! Yes, me friend did very well. Thank you for the compliments!

  9. Probably just the right note in support of your friend’s thesis defense! The rule book for occasions generally has changed, world-wide, it seems, but you have it down. One of your most flattering looks!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you, Jan! I think you are right, about a change, and I think it is mainly good!

  10. I think your styling on this dress is really perfect, the long cardigan with the belt and the dark tights really dresses it up a bit and it looks stunning on you. It does have a very streamlined look and doesn’t look too terribly casual to me, you look very put together! It’s nice that your field of academia lets you play around with your style thought, it’s nice having that flexiblitly.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      I agree Katie, it is somewhere in between, the shiny fabric makes it look a little bite more polished. Oh yes, it is great to have a job where you can dress pretty much as you like, I think I would be bored if I would have to wear the same type of clothes everyday. So I am very greatful for my job.

Leave a Reply

