Only the Dead Fish Follow the Stream

IMG_0984

I don’t think there is a single fashionista that don’t own at least one little black dress (LBD), and if there is, she is not a fashionista. The praise to the usefulness of a LBD never ends. Coco Chanel did say that every woman should at least own a little black dress. I could not agree more. I sometimes like to swim against the stream, but when it comes to LBDs I give in and I do follow the stream. It is just such a versatile piece. But, I think she should have added that every woman needs to own a little black lace dress. I love mine, and it has gone to several weddings (for example here) and dissertation parties with me, including my own. Yesterday, my LBLD joined me to celebrate my brothers 40’nde birthday. As we had to do a pretty long drive I added a thick cardigan to keep warm and cosy in the car. The belt did not fill any function except adding some contrast and making the dress looking a little more casual. In the evening I just exchange the accessories, and I was ready for a dinner party at a nice restaurant (very nice event). And I know, I should have had photos of my second outfit too, but there was other important business to take care of, such as playing with my niece and nephew.

Speaking about following the stream, we could have sent this wonderful song “Only the Dead Fish Follow the Stream” to the Eurovision song contest, but it did not get enough of the votes. As Louise says in the beginning of the clip, the song is a reminder to her self to not stagnate, to not die. To not follow the stream. The fact that the singer, Louise Hoffsten, has Multiple Sclerosis brings even more substance to the lyrics.

IMG_0982

IMG_0983

IMG_0981

Dress – Zoul, MQ; Cardigan – Vero Moda; Boots – ParkWest; Belt – Thrifted

Yes, a LBD can be worn all year around!

IMG_8792

This entry was posted in Dress down the dress, How to dress down a little black dress, how to style a little black dress and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Only the Dead Fish Follow the Stream

  1. Jane says:

    Simply fabulous dress.

  2. Sabine says:

    Hello Anna,
    your lace dress proves what the song tells us: nothing is ever what it seems. A lbd can be a daily robe and also a dress for a special event. Yours is a wonderful summer dress, but now you created a beautiful winterly outfit. That is the kind of dress I love so much. You are marvellous in it in winter and in summer!
    When I was a child I always want a big brother, but I got a little sister (today I’m no longer angry about that :-)).
    Have a great weekend my dear friend!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Hahaha … I was pretty satisfied with only having a big brother, as my mum had three aunties that never got any children by them own. You can guess that they spoiled me! However, today I think it would had been great to have had a sister too. Thank you for your supporting comments, they always makes me very happy! Have a good weekend you too!

  3. Lisa Walter says:

    HI Anna,
    I love seeing the snow flakes in the picture!
    This is a very versatile little dress. I love a black dress more than any other piece of clothing. I think you styled this perfectly for a brother’s birthday party. Did you have a wonderful time?

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Lisa, yes, we had a great time! We stayed at a nice hotel, had great food, and a very nice time together! It was just a little bite too short, I would have loved to stay a little bite longer and enjoyed more but our jobs were calling. Have a great weekend!

  4. Hah, that title really captured me attention! I had to think on it for a moment and then it was like, “Yeah, I guess only dead fish do follow the stream!”
    I LOVE lace dresses and this one is just so gorgeous! I think I lean more towards little white dresses rather than little black dresses but when it comes to lace dresses, any color is good. The detailing on this dress is so pretty and your styling is stunning, I love the cardigan and the bold brown belt with this dress. It’s fun to see how you’d styled it back in the summer and the picture is giving me nostalgia for green grass!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Katie, you always look fantastic in your white lace dresses, I love white lace dresses too, but the black ones are more flattering on me. Yes, I am longing for the green grass too. Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

