West Highlands Lochs, Mountains, and Castles

IMG_2248

In my last post I wrote that Mr. D and I visited the Royal Botanic Garden of Edinburgh this weekend. On Sunday we took an arranged tour to the West Highlands (Scotland). It was beautiful scenery, when it did not rain. Enough about the weather, let me share some photos from my favorite stop on the tour, the Inveraray Castle, and its beautiful garden and surroundings! (More outfit photos below)

IMG_2251

IMG_2226

IMG_2254

Does the castle look familiar to you? You might have seen it here! Don’t we all long for the next season of Downton Abbey, despite the tragic event in the end of the last season?

IMG_2236

As we were going many hours in a bus, the comfort was important for me, as well as the clothes would keep me warm. So I used several layers, my new favorite scarf, my comfy black stretch jeans from Ann Taylor Loft and my Ecco boots. And surprise surprise a cardigan! If anyone noticed that I wore the same blue cardigan i three outfit photos in a row, before this, please raise your hand!

There is a lot of tours and tour companies to choose between departing from Edinburgh. We finally decided to go with Timberbush Tours on the one-day tour West Highland Lochs, Mountains, and Castles, as we did not want to have to go up extremely early in the morning and spend most of the time in the bus, which we would have had to do if we had chosen for example a Loch Ness tour. It was a good tour, but it was not terrific. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly, but I did not feel stuffed with information afterwards, and I wanted to be stuffed with information! The stops that included visits to gift shops was a little bite too long, as they often are at arranged tours. However, if you want to see pretty much of the Scottish nature (which is beautiful) and castles during one day, this is a good tour, and that was our main purpose.

Linking up to Visible Monday!

IMG_2243

IMG_2247

IMG_2244

Top – Zara; Cardigan – Saint Tropez; Jeans – Ann Taylor Loft; Boots – Ecco; Bag – Stradivarius; Scarf – Unknown

This entry was posted in dressing for bus tour in Scotland, Review of one-day tour West Highlands Lochs Mountains and Castles, what to wear at a bus tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to West Highlands Lochs, Mountains, and Castles

  1. Sabine says:

    Hello Anna,
    I see it was a wonderful day in the Western Highlands. How beautiful to see so many daffodils on the green lawn. And beautiful you in your springlike pink outfit! Don’t worry the cardigan is not only usefull but marvellous. When I were in Scotland I mostly wore a worm turtle neck sweater.
    In Scotland I saw the most impressive landscapes and castles, definitely a country I will visit again Enjoy your time there my dear friend!

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Sabine, I do my best to not only work, but also enjoy! Yes, Scotland is a beautiful place (I love the daffodils) with very unpredictable weather. Have a great week my friend!

  2. Lisa Walter says:

    Anna, it looks so beautiful there. Scotland is definitely high on my list of places I would love to visit.
    Your outfit is so pretty! The bright pink is a wonderful color for you. This and your last post featuring the pretty floral scarves are extra pretty; I think these soft florals and the pink are very, very flattering on you. You look really gorgeous.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Hi Lisa, I do recommend you to visit Scotland, it is a beautiful place with great thrift shops! Thanks for all you kind comments, I love this soft pink and the scarf too! The thing I don’t like with the fashion industry is that when it comes to colors it is very main stream, the colors are either in or out, and it might take years between when you can buy them. I am on hunt for more pieces in these colors, and my gut feeling tells me that this might be the time and place. Keep your fingers crossed! ūüôā

  3. Scarves are so great for traveling!

  4. Mrs C says:

    We were thinking of taking the children to Scotland sometime next year, they are very excited as they have many friends in school that are from there. Your pictures are amazing and perfect travelling outfit!

    GREETINGS FROM DUBAI
    MRS JACK OF ALL TRADES
    http://mrsjackofalltradesdaily.blogspot.ae/

  5. stylehigher says:

    Such GORGEOUS photos!!! I so enjoyed looking at your post today. BEAUTIFUL everywhere!!!!

  6. So beautiful – I love seeing the wooly sheep. You look great in pink! Thanks for sharing your pictures with Visible Monday.

  7. A cardigan yes but look at the gorgeous top and scarf peeking out! Don’t worry I wrote a post last week admitting that I own 24 cardigans (and I want more!) – who can blame us if they’re so damn versatile and comfortable. Happy travels xx

  8. Don’t you look great it your Spring colors. if you ever decide you’re tired of that top, I’ll take it off your hands. The photos are delightful and it looks like you are having a great time. Enjoy the rest of your stay.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Barbara, I am sorry, but that top stays with me! ūüėČ Yes, it was a great trip!

  9. woodlucker says:

    What a beautiful setting! You look striking in magenta, your scarf is lovely!

    blue hue wonderland

  10. Such beautiful photo’s, thank you for sharing these. You, my dear, look absolutely splended in pink, it just makes you glow.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you my friend Trina! Your nice comments make me glow even more!

  11. Zalina says:

    Very pretty photos. The cardigan is a pretty color on you. The weather appears a bit overcast, just like here in California

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Zalina, the weather here is very unpredictable, but at least it is very green due to all the raining!

  12. jangrahammcmillen says:

    Hey, Anna! Very flattering colors on you … you wear pink as gracefully as a flower in a bouquet! Hope you had a completely fun trip. Love “Downton Abbey”. Thank you for the mini-tour.

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you Jan! My trip is coming to an end for this time, but I will soon be back again!

  13. Suzanne says:

    Wow what fantastic photos!

    That is so cool about the castle and Downton Abbey.

    I lived and worked very north of Edinburgh for a while in a private hunting lodge so secluded and remote that we had no electricity and everything we did used oil lamps and coal. It was a strange but amazing time. I felt like I’d gone back 100 years in time. The scenery there is just breathtaking as you’ve shown here.

    I do want to go back and visit some of the castles which I didn’t have the $ to when I was there last.

    Your outfit is so colourful against the green and yellow. You look like a bright blooming flower : )

    bisous
    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

