What to Wear While Breastfeeding

IMG_4617

Hello Friends, I started to write this post a loooong time ago and the pictures are from the autumn 2014, but I think this outfit fits perfectly in February too.

I want to share my experiences about what to wear while breasting feeding. As most mums know, it is not very easy to find nice tops designed for breastfeeding. The selection of tops designed to breastfeed in is very limited and very boring.  I suppose the tops below is the most traditional breast feeding top. I bought mine from H&M. When it comes to the design they are plain and a little bite boring. Further, you are not able to breastfeed in a discrete way in them. For use at home they are ok and they kept their shape and color ok, but after about 3-4 months of use I would not wear them in public anymore.

hmtrad

(Picture from H&M)

I think that the two tops below (also from H&M) are much more fun/stylish and it also easier to breast feed without showing your boobs for everyone. I have had the grey one for several months and it has kept its shape pretty well. The black one had pretty thin fabric, and it did not last very long, but I was the most modern I could find and not very expensive. Last time I looked they were not available at H&M anymore, but my experience of H&M is that they do new versions of the same models.

hmgreyhmblack(Pictures are from H&M)

However, the best solution for me have been to wear a big or very elastic camisole or a breast feeding camisole beneath and a short wide top/sweater above, like in the pictures. That is what I wear most of the times when I know I might need to breastfeed in public. Yeep, the little boy is still partly breastfeed! The camisole protect me from showing my stomach to everyone and the top will cover the baby’s head and my breast. It has been  much more convenient than using a scarf for cover, as my little boy (and he is not unique in that way) wants to play with the scarf.

For the less shy person a blouse or shirt might be a good option, but I have not been comfortable with that.

IMG_4622

I might share my point of view on breastfeeding in a later post, but this will have to do for this time. A mum needs to take advantage of the time when the child is sleeping. Have a nice week everyone!

IMG_4625

Sweater & Necklace – Vero Moda, Camisole – 365, MQ, Trousers – H&M, Boots – Jana

This entry was posted in what to to wear while breastfeeding, what to wear while breast feeding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What to Wear While Breastfeeding

  1. Monica says:

    Dear Anna! How lovely to see you again! 🙂 Im impressed you are still breastfeeding your little one, how great is that! 🙂 I had to give up breastfeeding when my girl was 4 months as I didnt have enough milk for her and she also preferred the bottle over me then. I had been both breastfeeding and giving “morsmelkserstatning” since birth. I hope my body will do better if there is a NeXT time around. 😉 I really didnt like to breastfeed in public and even when I had family over at home I went in another rooom to breastfeed, thats how shy I am. 😉

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Hahaha… I have no choice! 🙂 My little man doesn’t want to give up on his mother’s milk. He just recently started to eat more food. I am comfortable with still breastfeeding, so it is not a problem. However, I miss to not being able to wear my dresses. 😉 Ivar didn’t became full on breast milk in the beginning either, so I had to give him supplement, but after three months he didn’t wanted the bottle anymore. My best advice if there is a second time for you, is to drink and eat a lot! I especially drank fat milk, and eat yoghurt and red meat. I also added cream to sauces. It seemed to work for me (and for a friend), as well as letting go off all “musts” and rest a lot.

  2. Sabine says:

    Hello my dear Anna,
    It is nice to see you so happy and proud. You look gorgeous. Your outfit is perfect for fall and for spring and your necklace is stunning.
    I don’t remember that there are stylish tops when I my children were babies. I had to help me wearing blouses and a big scarf when I want to breastfeed in public. Unfortunately I couldn’t breastfeed my daughter because I became ill, but my son got my milk in his first year. Then he decided to join the meals of his sister.
    Have a good time my dear friend!
    Sabine xxx

    • Four Seasons One Wardrobe says:

      Thank you my friend! Your comments always makes my day! It is odd that there is not a market for stylish breastfeeding tops, because otherwise there should be more options, right?! Have a good time you too!

  3. Kaffesoester says:

    Dear Anna, You look happy, healthy and beautiful – nothing like me when I was breastfeeding! I’ve later thrown those photos out. But then I didn’t eat according to your recommendations. My hair was awful, turning more and more grey with every drop of milk my daughter sucked out of me. It could be that she was a huge baby – 4,5 kilos at birth!

    Anyway, I never found any nice tops for breastfeeding, they all showed my tummy. It’s not that I’m shy, but to be that exposed isn’t nice. So no public breastfeeding for me!

    So good to see you back, and to be back 🙂 Hope to hear more about the boy, and see him?

Leave a comment